LibGuides: Chicago Citation Style: Government Publications

Government Publications Online (14.282 / p. 770; 14.303-14.304 / pp. 777-778)

General Format

Full Note:

1. Name of Government Body/Division, Publication Title, (Place of
Publication: Publisher, Year), URL.

Concise Note:

2. Name of Government Body/Division, Publication Title.

Bibliography:

Name of Government Body/Division. Publication Title. Place of Publication:
Publisher, Year. URL.

Example

Full Note:

1. U.S. Department of State, Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers, 1943 (Washington, DC: GPO, 1965), 562. http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/FRUS.FRUS1943v03.

Concise Note:

2. U.S. Department of State, on Aboriginal Peoples, Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers, 1943.

Bibliography:

U.S. Department of State. Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers, 1943. Washington, DC: GPO, 1965. http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/FRUS.FRUS1943v03.

When the note entry includes a URL that must be divided between two lines, break it after a colon or a double slash or before a tilde (~), period, single slash, comma or hyphen. (14.12 / p. 659)

Learn More

Download this 2-page guide:

Chicago Style Guidelines
Basic guidelines for using Chicago Style in a paper, covering: title page, margins, spacing, endnotes, footnotes, bibliography, and notes on pagination and section numbers.

Websites with information on using Chicago style:

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
A quick guide to the two basic documentation systems in the Chicago Manual of Style: (1) notes and bibliography (used in literature, history, and the arts) and (2) author-date (used in the physical, natural, and social sciences). Gives sample citations for a book, a journal article, an article in a newspaper or popular magazine, a book review, a thesis or dissertation, a paper presented at a meeting or conference, a website, a blog entry or comment, an e-mail or text message, and an item in a commercial database.
more...less...
Access to the Chicago-Style Quick Guide is free. Presented by The Chicago Manual of Style Online, a paid-subscription service.
Ohio State University Libraries Chicago Manual - Sample Entries
Entries illustrate the citation style according to Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition, in both the Notes-Bibliography and Author-Date styles, with many examples of citations for electronic and multimedia sources.
Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) - Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition
Information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation, with links to specific examples for citing books, periodicals, web sources, film and television, interviews, personal communication, lectures and presentations, and published and unpublished materials.
University of Arizona Libraries - Chicago Manual of Style Guide
Provides examples for bibliography (using Notes-Bibliography style), with guidance on specific punctuation, indentation, and abbreviation required.

About Citing Websites

This guide is intended to cover only the Notes and Bibliography system for citing websites.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

Full Note - use the first time that you cite a source.
Concise Note - use after the first time you cite a source.
Bibliography - use when you are compiling the Bibliography that appears at the end of your paper.

Information on citing and several of the examples were drawn from The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.).

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific sections and pages in the manual.