Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citation Style: Articles

This guide will help you cite sources using the Chicago Citation Style 16th edition.

Situations This Section Covers

This section covers the following examples:

Hospital library - Britannica ImageQuest

Basic Journal Article
Journal Article from an Online Periodical
Journal Article from an Article Database
Magazine Article
Magazine Article from an Online Magazine
Newspaper Article
Newspaper Article from an Online Newspaper

For more examples and information, consult The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.) located at the librarian's desk. 

‚ÄčEncyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest, "Library of hospital," accessed 28 Feb 2016, http://quest.eb.com/search/164_3220549/1/164_3220549/cite

Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) (14.6 / p. 657)

Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique code preferred by publishers in the identification and exchange of the content of a digital object, such as a journal article, Web document, or other item of intellectual property. The DOI consists of two parts: a prefix assigned to each publisher by the administrative DOI agency and a suffix assigned by the publisher that may be any code the publisher chooses. DOIs and their corresponding URLs (Uniform Resource Locators) are registered in a central DOI directory that functions as a routing system.

The DOI is persistent, meaning that the identification of a digital object does not change even if ownership of or rights in the entity are transferred. It is also actionable, meaning that clicking on it in a Web browser display will redirect the user to the content. The DOI is also interoperable, designed to function in past, present, and future digital technologies. The registration and resolver system for the DOI is run by the International DOI Foundation (IDF)

Example: doi:10.1080/14622200410001676305

If a DOI is listed on an electronic source it is included in the reference.  When there is a choice between using a DOI or a URL, it is recommended that a DOI be used.    

Reitz, Joan M. "Digital Object Identifier (DOI)." In Online Dictionary for 
     Library and Information Science. ABC-CLIO, 2014. Accessed February 21, 
     2016. http://www.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_c.aspx. 

About Citing Articles

This guide is intended to cover only the Notes and Bibliography system for citing articles.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

Full Note - use the first time that you cite a source.
Concise Note - use after the first time you cite a source.
Bibliography - use when you are compiling the Bibliography that appears at the end of your paper.

Information on citing and several of the examples were drawn from The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.). 

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific sections and pages in the manual.

Learn More

Download this 2-page guide:

Websites with information on using Chicago style:

Polytechnic School Libraries | 1030 E. California Blvd. | Pasadena, CA 91106 | 626-396-6441 |