2009 Winner & Honorees2008 Winner & Honorees2007 Winner & Honorees2006 Winner & Honorees2005 Winner & Honorees2004 Winner & Honorees2003 Winner & Honorees2002 Winner & Honorees2001 Winner & Honorees2000 Winner & Honorees
1999 Winner & Honorees1998 Winner & Honorees1997 Winner & Honorees1996 Winner & Honorees1995 Winner & Honorees1994 Winner & Honorees1993 Winner & Honorees1992 Winner & Honorees1991 Winner & Honorees1990 Winner & Honorees
1989 Winner & Honorees1988 Winner & Honorees1987 Winner & Honorees1986 Winner & Honorees1985 Winner & Honorees1984 Winner & Honorees1983 Winner & Honorees1982 Winner & Honorees1981 Winner & Honorees1980 Winner & Honorees
1979 Winner & Honorees1978 Winner & Honorees1977 Winner & Honorees1976 Winner & Honorees1975 Winner & Honorees1974 Winner & Honorees1973 Winner & Honorees1972 Winner & Honorees1971 Winner & Honorees1970 Winner & Honorees
1969 Winner & Honorees1968 Winner & Honorees1967 Winner & Honorees1966 Winner & Honorees1965 Winner & Honorees1964 Winner & Honorees1963 Winner & Honorees1962 Winner & Honorees1961 Winner & Honorees1960 Winner & Honorees
1959 Winner & Honorees1958 Winner & Honorees1957 Winner & Honorees1956 Winner & Honorees1955 Winner & Honorees1954 Winner & Honorees1953 Winner & Honorees1952 Winner & Honorees1951 Winner & Honorees1950 Winner & Honorees
1949 Winner & Honorees1948 Winner & Honorees1947 Winner & Honorees1946 Winner & Honorees1945 Winner & Honorees1944 Winner & Honorees1943 Winner & Honorees1942 Winner & Honorees1941 Winner & Honorees1940 Winner & Honorees
1939 Winner & Honorees1938 Winner & Honorees1937 Winner & Honorees1936 Winner & Honorees1935 Winner & Honorees1934 Winner & Honorees1933 Winner & Honorees1932 Winner & Honorees1931 Winner & Honorees1930 Winner & Honorees
1929 Winner & Honorees1928 Winner & Honorees1927 Winner & Honorees1926 Winner & Honorees1925 Winner & Honorees1924 Winner & Honorees1923 Winner & Honorees1922 Winner & Honorees
2016 Winner & Honorees2015 Winner & Honorees2014 Winner & Honorees2013 Winner & Honorees2012 Winner & Honorees2011 Winner & Honorees2010 Winner & Honorees
This is the "About" page of the "Newbery Award & Honor Winners" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newbery Award & Honor Winners  

A listing of all the award & honor books since 1922.
Last Updated: Dec 7, 2016 URL: http://polytechnic.libguides.com/newbery Print Guide RSS Updates

About Print Page

Table of Contents


About the John Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


How the Newbery Medal Came to Be

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. On June 22, 1921, Frederic G. Melcher proposed the award to the American Library Association meeting of the Children's Librarians' Section and suggested that it be named for the eighteenth-century English bookseller John Newbery. The idea was enthusiastically accepted by the children's librarians, and Melcher's official proposal was approved by the ALA Executive Board in 1922. In Melcher's formal agreement with the board, the purpose of the Newbery Medal was stated as follows: "To encourage original creative work in the field of books for children. To emphasize to the public that contributions to the literature for children deserve similar recognition to poetry, plays, or novels. To give those librarians, who make it their life work to serve children's reading interests, an opportunity to encourage good writing in this field."

The Newbery Award thus became the first children's book award in the world. Its terms, as well as its long history, continue to make it the best known and most discussed children's book award in this country.

From the beginning of the awarding of the Newbery and Caldecott Medals, committees could, and usually did, cite other books as worthy of attention. Such books were referred to as Newbery or Caldecott "runners-up." In 1971 the term "runners-up" was changed to "honor books." The new terminology was made retroactive so that all former runners-up are now referred to as Newbery or Caldecott Honor Books.


Giving Credit Where Credit is Due

"ALA | Home," American Library Association, .
http://www.ala.org/template.cfm?template=/CFApps/awards_info/award_detail_home.cfm&FilePublishTitle=Awards,%20Grants%20and%20Scholarships&uid=9975B44A8D61AEE9 (Accessed July 21, 2011)



This guide is possible due to the hard work of:

Tia Farmer
Dean B. Ellis Library
Arkansas State University
State University, AR 72467
(870) 972-3662

Thank you for allowing us to copy and edit for our purposes.

Frances Callero - Polytechnic LS/MS Library


John Newbery Medal


John Newbery Honor


Loading  Loading...